Refine your search

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Guided Walk item typeGuided Walk: From Camulodunum to Colchester at Visit Colchester Information Centre

  • Essex Tourism Awards

Guided Walk, from 22 Jun 2019

ENJOY ENGLAND PARTNER TIC, ESSEX TOURISM AWARDS 2010

Camulodunum to Colchester

Camulodunum to Colchester

Address

Hollytrees Museum,
Castle Park,
Colchester,
Essex,
CO1 1UG

Details

Colchester is Britain’s oldest recorded town, with a story stretching back over 2000 years. Join one of our official town guides on a guided walk and explore the dramatic events that have shaped the town, from the destruction of Roman Camulodunum to the Civil War Siege of 1648 and beyond.

Tours run weekly, led by our experienced and fully qualified town guides, meaning your tour is guaranteed to be well paced, entertaining, and factually accurate.

Book in advance or turn up on the day. Places are limited so advance booking is recommended, particularly during the peak season.

Tours are suitable for all ages, however due to the historic nature of some of the sites patrons with access requirements are advised to contact the Visitor Information Centre in advance and the suitability of the tour can be advised.

Restrictions on dog walkers in upper Castle Park mean the tours are not normally suitable for dogs, except assitance dogs.

For large groups, private tours are available which can be run on a theme of your choosing, and at a time convenient for you. Contact the Visitor Information Centre for more information.

Gift shopPublic toiletsWelcome Host

Children welcome

Event details

Dates Times
Sat 29 Jun 2019 11:00
Wed 3 Jul 2019 11:00
Sat 6 Jul 2019 11:00
Wed 10 Jul 2019 11:00
Sat 13 Jul 2019 11:00
Wed 17 Jul 2019 11:00
Sat 20 Jul 2019 11:00
Wed 24 Jul 2019 11:00
Sat 27 Jul 2019 11:00
Wed 31 Jul 2019 11:00
Sat 3 Aug 2019 11:00
Wed 7 Aug 2019 11:00
Sat 10 Aug 2019 11:00
Wed 14 Aug 2019 11:00
Sat 17 Aug 2019 11:00
Wed 21 Aug 2019 11:00
Sat 24 Aug 2019 11:00
Mon 26 Aug 2019 14:00
Wed 28 Aug 2019 11:00
Sat 31 Aug 2019 11:00
Sat 7 Sep 2019 11:00
Sat 21 Sep 2019 11:00
Sat 28 Sep 2019 11:00
Sat 5 Oct 2019 11:00
Sat 12 Oct 2019 11:00
Sat 19 Oct 2019 11:00
Sat 26 Oct 2019 11:00
Sat 2 Nov 2019 11:00
Sat 9 Nov 2019 11:00
Sat 16 Nov 2019 11:00
Sat 23 Nov 2019 11:00
Sat 30 Nov 2019 11:00

Prices

Cost: Adults: £4:60, Children (aged 5 -15 years) £3:20

Location

Directions

Plan route to Visit Colchester Information Centre using Google mapsPlan route using Google maps

Map reference: TL 999252  Lat: 51.89007 Long: 0.90449

The Visit Colchester Information Centre is located in Hollytrees Museum, located in Castle Park

Accessible by Public Transport: 1 mile from Colchester station

Facilities

  • Gift shopGift shop
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Welcome HostWelcome Host
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome