Book Tickets Online
Finchingfield is a charming destination with the village green, pond, several pubs, tea rooms, Windmill, Norman church and Guildhall. The Guildhall was built around 1470 by the Guild of the Holy Trinity to house a Guild of priests and to provide a schoolroom for the boys of the village. The Guildroom has been used for a place of learning for more than five centuries. Free entry, guided tours available, price on application.
The Building fell into disrepair and following the second world war attempts were made to restore the site. Unfortunately inappropriate materials were used, and architectural details were covered up. In 2008 the Finchingfield Guildhall trust was formed to save the site from dereliction. After several years bidding for funding, the build started in earnest in 2011. Expert craftsmen were employed using ancient techniques, and local materials were sourced.
In keeping with its original purpose the building is now a stimulating heritage based facility for all.
The Guildhall is used for a range of community activities including language classes, Pilates Classes and Coffee Mornings. The Guildhall also hosts the volunteer led Village Library.
There is a fully interactive Museum normally ope at weekends during the Summer months but urrently closed because of Covid restrictions.
The beatiful Guildroom is available for private hirings
" A wonderful tour, lovely people"
The Guidhall is fully accessible with a wheelchair ramp to the side of the building and a lift to the 1st floor.